Saturday, August 29, 2015

Book Subscription Box: Lit Cube unveiling of August box

Lit cube is another bookish subscription box that I decided i would try out for a few months. This is my first box from them. You can either enjoy the video of me unveiling it, or just scroll down and see the pictures.
This is how it looks when it's first opened

 These are all the goodies that were in it.

 The adorable WOZ bookmark

 This was the book that cam in it.
Spelled by Betsy Schow.
I've already read this one, but now I have a copy of it for my shelf.
 Postcard side 1 explaining what's in the box
 Postcard side 2 
 Lollipop that says welcome to munchkin land.
 RT book reviews magazine.
It's pretty interesting to look though.
 This is a cute orgami necklace

Signed Bookplate



Book Subscription Box: Uppercase unveiling for August


From the Uppercase Website
"Uppercase is a young adult book subscription box. Simply put: You sign up and receive a YA book and a bookish goody every month! Plus the subscription comes with online access to extras like a live book discussion & recommendations for similar books."
Today I will be revealing what I got in my uppercase box for the month of August.


This was everything in the box. 

This was the book for August Rebel Mechanics.
I actually already have this one because I went to a
signing of her recently. So this might be a giveaway book.

I love that this bookmark resembles the one on the cover of this months book 

Fierce reads tattoo 

This has to be my favorite thing out of this months box.
It's an "&" sign necklace 

The note about why this book was picked. 

 And a bookplate signed by the author.
And another tattoo.

My 1,000th Follower


I'VE REACHED MY 1000th FOLLOWER TODAY!

I'm extremely excited about this as I've been doing this for almost 5 years now.

I'll probably try and put a giveaway together. :)

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Giveaway: Stay Peculiar Tote From Quirk Books




For more details go to Quirk Books

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.



This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.







The epic conclusion to the best-selling series!

Time is running out for the Peculiar Children. With a dangerous madman on the loose and their beloved Miss Peregrine still in danger, Jacob Portman and Emma Bloom are forced to stage the most daring of rescue missions. They’ll travel through a war-torn landscape, meet new allies, and face greater dangers than ever. . . . Will Jacob come into his own as the hero his fellow Peculiars know him to be? This action-packed adventure features more than 50 all-new Peculiar photographs




I haven't yet read this series, but I have copies on  my kindle now. I will be reading them as soon as I can finish the books I have already started. Right now the first two are on sale for kindle $3.99 and $2.99 the third one is for pre-order and it's $9.99.


Blog Tour and Interview: The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender



Title: THE DEAD GIRLS OF HYSTERIA HALL
Author: Katie Alender
Pub. Date: August 25, 2015
Publisher:  Scholastic Press
Pages: 336
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleiBooksGoodreads

Synopsis:
Asylum meets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, in this riveting tale of ghosts, secrets, and family, from master of suspense Katie Alender. Delia's new house isn't just a house. It used to be an insane asylum, a place to lock up "troubled" young women long ago. And a restless, wicked spirit is still at play--and it doesn't want defiant girls like Delia to go anywhere. So the house kills her. Now Delia is a ghost, trapped in her creepy home forever. As she meets the other ghost girls who haunt the narrow hallways, as well as the handsome ghost boy on the grounds, she learns shocking truths about the house's history. Delia also realizes that her alive and grieving sister might be the house's next target. Can Delia unlock the mystery of the old asylum, save her sister, and free herself?

Kirkus (starred review): "This superior ghost story keeps the creep factor high… A really scary and original ghost story, well told. Read it with the lights on."   School Library Journal: "Alender has created a chilling tale of forgotten tragedies and family secrets. A great choice for fans of horror or 
suspense novels." 


INTERVIEW

1. You seem to write a lot about ghosts. Do you believe in ghosts and have you ever had an experience you can't explain? 
I don’t necessarily believe in ghosts, but I can’t count them out, as I know numerous people who are confident that they exist. Who am I to say they don’t? I did have one experience that I can’t explain — a night I could have sworn I heard my husband come home and sit down to watch TV, but when I went upstairs there was nobody home. We had just bought a pair of lounge chairs from an estate sale at the home of a writer who had passed away, so I sometimes say that his ghost followed the trail of writing energy (and chairs) to have a little walk around my living room. 

2. Out of all your books which was your favorite to write and which did you have a harder time on? 
Oh, man. They’re all hard! They all hit a certain point where you think, “Okay, this is the one I’m not going to be able to do. This is the book that will ruin me.” But the process being so scheduled is enormously helpful in terms of pushing you past those thoughts and back to work. I think the one I enjoyed writing the most was probably the second Bad Girls Don’t Die book, From Bad to Cursed. Because I understood the characters’ journeys so much, and I was fascinated by the things they were doing under the influence of a not-so-nice spirit. 

3. If you could have been the original author of any book, what would it have been and why? 
I don’t actually want to have written anyone else’s book, but I’ll say Harry Potter because then I would have a castle and a theme park. 

4. If you were to write a book about yourself, what would you name it? 
Probably “Honestly.” I feel myself saying that a lot. I used to think that if I ever wrote a memoir about my childhood, it would be called “Alligator Dreaming,” because I grew up in South Florida, where there are alligators. And for many years I would have random dreams about alligators. 

5. If you had your own talk show, who would your first three guests be? 
Stephen Colbert (because he’s hilarious), Jim Gaffigan (because he’s hilarious), and my daughter (because she’s hilarious).  


 About Katie: Katie Alender is the author of The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall, Famous Last Words, Marie Antoinette: Serial Killer, and the Bad Girls Don’t Die series. She is a graduate of the Florida State University Film School and lives in Los Angeles with her husband, daughter, and two dogs. When she’s not writing novels, she can usually be found quilting, reading, eating delicious high-calorie foods, and hanging out with her friends (on very special occasions, she manages to do all of those things at once).
Find Katie on the web:  |Website|Twitter|Facebook|Instagram|Tumblr|Wattpad



 Giveaway Details: 3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE DEAD GIRLS OF HYSTERIA HALL. US Only.

 Rafflecopter Embed Code: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:
Week One:
8/17/2015- The Cover Contessa- Interview
8/18/2015- Twisted Book Junkie- Review
8/19/2015- Fiktshun- Guest Post
8/20/2015- BITTERSWEET ENCHANTMENT- Review
8/21/2015- Mundie Moms- Guest Post

Week Two:
8/24/2015- The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club- Interview
8/25/2015- Pandora's Books- Review
8/26/2015- bookaholics anonymous- Interview (YOU ARE HERE)
8/27/2015- A Dream Within A Dream- Review
8/28/2015- Such a Novel Idea- Guest Post


Sunday, August 23, 2015

Blog Tour and Review: Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen


Jubilee Manor (Landry Park #2)
by Bethany Hagen
Publisher: Dial/Penguin
Release Date: August 11th 2015
Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction
Rate: 4 Stars

Synopsis:

The thrilling conclusion to Landry Park is full of love, betrayal, and murder--perfect for fans of Divergent, The Selection, andPride and Prejudice.

In Landry Park, Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in Jubilee Manor, she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs—Madeline’s old friends—are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can’t figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die—and Madeline’s name, her estate, and all the bonds she’s forged won’t make any difference.

This conclusion to Landry Park, which VOYA dubbed "Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games,” is a richly satisfying, addictive read.


Jubilee Manor was a bit more gory then Landry Park, but that didn't sway my liking of it at all.

Quotes
"We gravitated toward what was easy, and nothing about death was easy."

"You know he likes to throw himself into things.""I would like to throw him into somethings right now."

"They are the people who raised you, who cared for you. They are the ones who made you who you are."

"There had been so much pain, so many shattered designs and wishes and longings, and yet my reflection never changed."

"Is a black hole content with only swallowing half a star? Half a galaxy? No, it wants it all."



 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Follow the Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.



Bethany Hagen was born and raised in Kansas City. She grew up reading Charlotte Brontë, Jane Austen, and all things King Arthur, and went on to become a librarian. Landry Park is her debut novel.


US ONLY







Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...